Senate Passes Cloture Motion on Immigration | The Weekly Standard

In what’s being called the first “test vote” on the Gang of Eight’s comprehensive immigration bill, the Senate Monday evening passed a motion to invoke cloture on the Corker-Hoeven amendment to the bill, 67 to 27. All 52 voting Democratic senators were joined by 15 Republicans, including Gang of Eight members Jeff Flake, Lindsey Graham, John McCain, and Marco Rubio, to close debate on the amendment, which purports to boost border security by adding 20,000 more patrol agents to the country’s border with Mexico and substantially increase federal funds for border security and more border fencing. Twenty-seven Republicans and no Democrats voted against cloture.

The motion exceeded the required 60 votes to pass, and the Senate will move on now to vote on the amendment outright, which will require only a simple majority to pass.

Here’s a list of the 15 Republicans who voted to invoke cloture on the amendment: Lamar Alexander, Kelly Ayotte, Jeffrey Chiesa, Susan Collins, Bob Corker, Jeff Flake, Lindsey Graham, Orrin Hatch, Dean Heller, John Hoeven, Mark Kirk, John McCain, Lisa Murkowski, Marco Rubio, and Roger Wicker.

via The Weekly Standard

Leave a reply

Don't forget to check out the recent podcast and subscribe! Stay alert and follow to know the moment the show is LIVE.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links found on this website are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will add value to my listeners and readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”