Super Committee Takes Shape as Names Chosen

(VOANews) – Leaders of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives have named nine of the 12 members of a committee that will be expected to find up to $1.5 trillion in savings to reduce the nation’s deficit.

The White House said Wednesday that President Barack Obama expects the members of the panel to make a serious effort to get the job done.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid selected fellow Democratic Senators Patty Murray, Max Baucus, and John Kerry, a former Democratic presidential candidate.

Murray’s selection has drawn criticism, as she also chairs the committee on Democratic senators’ re-election campaigns.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell also announced his choices:  Republican Senators Jon Kyl, Rob Portman, and Pat Toomey.

House Speaker John Boehner selected Republican Congressmen Jeb Hensarling, Dave Camp, and Fred Upton.

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, a Democrat, has yet to announce her picks, which will be the final three members of the committee.

Leave a reply

Don't forget to check out the recent podcast and subscribe! Stay alert and follow to know the moment the show is LIVE.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links found on this website are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will add value to my listeners and readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”